American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications. (See

H. V. Aposhian Retired-Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Steven R. ArcherPhDProfessor of Natural Resources
David ArnettPhDRegents Professor of Astrophysics
Alexander BadyaevPhDProfessor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Victor BakerPhDRegents Professor, Professor of Geosciences and Professor of Planetary Sciences
Carol BarnesPhDRegents Professor, Cognition and Neural Systems
Carl William BirkyPhDProfessor Emeritus
George BowdenPhDProfessor Cell Biology and Anatomy, Molecular and Cell Biology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Radiation Oncology
Eldon BraunPhDProfessor of Physiology
David D. BreshearsPhDProfessor of Natural Resources
Michael BrownPhDProfessor of Chemistry
Gail BurdPhDDistinguished Professor and Vice Provost, Academic Affairs
Yves CarrierePhDProfessor of Entomology
Peter ChessonPhDProfessor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Michael A. CusanovichPhDRegents Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics; Professor of Chemistry; Professor, BIO5 Institute
Jeffrey Dean Professor Emeritus, Dendrochronology
William Dickinson Professor Emeritus, Geosciences
Robert T. DownsPhDProfessor of Geosciences
John EnemarkPhDRegents Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
Brian EnquistPhDProfessor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Li-Zhi FangPhDProfessor of Physics
Peter A. FrankenPhDProfessor Emeritus of Optical Sciences (Deceased)
B. Roy FriedenPhDProfessor Emeritus of Optical Sciences
David W. GalbraithPhDProfessor of Plant Sciences
Merrill GarrettPhDProfessor of Psychology
Charles GerbaPhDProfessor of Soil, Water and Environmental Science
Hyatt M. GibbsPhDProfessor Emeritus of Optical Sciences (Deceased)
Richard GlassPhDProfessor of Chemistry
Lisa GraumlichPhDProfessor and Director of School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Richard GreenPhDAstronomer and Director of Large Binocular Telescope Observatory
C. Vance HaynesPhDProfessor Emeritus, Anthropology
James F. HaysPhDVisiting Professor
John G. HildebrandPhDRegents Professor of Neuroscience
Jane H. HillPhDRegents Professor Emerita of Anthropology and Linguistics
William HoffmannPhDProfessor Emeritus, Astronomy
Victor HrubyPhDRegents Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
William HubbardPhDProfessor, Planetary Interiors & Atmospheres
Malcolm K. HughesPhDProfessor of Dendrochronology
D. M. HuntenPhDRegents Professor Emeritus, Earth & Planetary Atmospheres
Laurence H. HurleyPhDHoward J. Schaeffer Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Professor, Pharmacology & Toxicology
Christopher D. ImpeyPhDProfessor of Astronomy
Arthur JelinekPhDProfessor Emeritus, Anthropology
John KesslerPhDProfessor Emeritus of Physics
Margaret G. KidwellPhDRegents Professor Emerita of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Thomas LindellPhDAssociate Professor Emeritus of Molecular & Cellular Biology
Everett Lindsay Professor Emeritus of Geosciences
William Longacre Riecker Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Jonathan LuninePhDProfessor of Planetary Sciences and Physics
Aden B. MeinelPhDProfessor of Astronomy and Optical Sciences, Founder of Optical Sciences Center (Deceased)
Neil MendelsonPhDProfessor Emeritus of Molecular & Cellular Biology
Pierre MeystrePhDRegents Professor and Professor of Physics and Optical Sciences
Katrina Marie MirandaPhDAssociate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Associate Professor, BIO5 Institute
Nancy A. MoranPhDRegents Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Michael NachmanPhDProfessor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Lynn NadelPhDRegents Professor of Cognition and Neural Systems
Jonathan T. OverpeckPhDProfessor of Geosciences and Atmospheric Sciences, Co-Director of the Institute of the Environment
Nancy ParezoPhDProfessor, American Indian Studies
Ian PepperPhDProfessor of Soil, Water and Environmental Science and Director of Environmental Research Lab
Mary A. PetersonPhDProfessor of Psychology
Nasser PeyghambarianPhDChair of Photonics and Lasers, Professor of Optical Sciences
Frank PorrecaPhDProfessor of Pharmacology and Anesthesiology
Charles Prewitt Professor of Mineralogy and Crystallography
George H. RiekePhDRegents Professor of Astronomy
Elizabeth RoemerPhDProfessor Emerita, Comets, Minor Planets & Astrometry
Eugene G. SanderPhDUA President, Former Vice Provost and Dean of the College of Agriculture
Michael SchifferPhDRiecker Distinguished Professor of Anthropology
Alice SchlegelPhDProfessor Emerita of Anthropology
I. Glenn SipesPhDProfessor and Head of Pharmacology
Robert SloviterPhDProfessor of Pharmacology and Neurology
Cornelius SteelinkPhDProfessor Emeritus of Chemistry
Bruce E. TabashnikPhDProfessor of Entomology
Hans VanEttenPhDProfessor, Plant Pathology and Microbiology
William VelezPhDProfessor of Mathematics
Frances Ann WalkerPhDRegents Professor of Chemistry
Feiyue WangPhDProfessor of Systems and Industrial Engineering
Roald WangsnessPhDProfessor Emeritus of Physics
Diana E. WheelerPhDProfessor, Department of Entomology
Rod A. WingPhDProfessor, School of Plant Sciences, BIO5 Institute and Arizona Genomics Institute
Mary J. WirthPhDProfessor of Chemistry
Jason X.-J. YuanMD, PhDAssociate Vice President for Translational Health Sciences, Professor of Medicine
Marlys Hearst WitteMDProfessor of Surgery


National & International Awards


University Awards & Honors